All the pathos fit to whack

February 9, 2010

Vague updates

Filed under: books,random,vacation — tssfragile @ 5:05 pm
Tags: , ,

 

Some random bits, serving to vaguely update my life.

 

I don’t ever talk about work, because I find talking about work boring. Also, people get d’ooced. But I’ll say that I am no longer travelling for work at all, which is fantastic, and the new department seems to think I am not a knuckle-dragging gorilla. I’ve been promoted, possibly to the chagrin of a couple of people. I’ll give them some thought and consideration (I know what it feels like), but I’m cool with it. There will always be haters.

 I desperately miss my brother’s daughter, my niece. She is now in India, and will be returning in one month to Vancouver. I can’t believe how much I miss her. She doesn’t have yet have object permanence, is still working out her motor skills, and often smells awful, but she’s managed to capture my heart. Seriously, I’ll find myself thinking about her and how much of her growing up I am missing.

 I am working towards a professional designation, the 5th, 6th, and 7th letters after my name. It has sucked up all my time and I am falling behind on fitness goals. What’s worse, having no time to make proper food, my diet has gone to hell. Worst of all, I have no excuse for this, really (other than a pretty bad cold the last two weeks). This is a product of laziness and bad planning. No longer. Things will change.

 I went to Alberta Gallery of Art’s opening. What a spectacular building, and a decent collection. I am a member, and I will be spending a lot of time there, even the odd lunch hour.

 I am currently reading Nikolski by Nicholas Dickner. It is quite good, paced nicely, a quick, snappy, easy read. I am in the early going, but am terribly curious, a good sign. My interest in the book stems from Canada Reads, another reason the CBC must survive, survive, survive. This program gets people reading Canadian books. My taxes can pay for that any day.

 I am going on vacation in a little over a week, to a resort in Mexico. I have mixed feelings about it, though I will enjoy my shut down time, my time to do nothing but sit in the sun and watch my life tick away. I wonder how long before the underpaid manual labour bringing me yet another water-down drink will tickle my proletarian sympathies. I suspect two days.

Mexico is the winter escape, but our real trip will be, it looks like, in July or August, and it looks like it will be back home. A’s friend’s and family are welcoming a couple of new children, and we’ll have to fly to Vancouver to see them. I hope/suspect this will take only a few days (having spent a week of vacation in Vancouver last year, I realize it is a colossal waste of time), and we will be off down the scenic Pacific Northwest coast. I am especially keen to see the dunes of Oregon’s shores, an experience that everyone says will stay with me for the rest of my life.

 Edmonton has ceased growing on me. Plans are afoot to leave it, at least in my head. But that won’t be for a couple of years yet, friends. A couple of years yet.

1 Comment »

  1. I hope you enjoyed Mexico. I also hope you will enjoy BC and that it won’t be a “colossal waste of time” this time. I miss you and hope to catch up with you next time you are in the vicinity.

    Comment by Jackie — March 10, 2010 @ 8:19 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

